Car Insurance Quotes PA

Pennsylvania drivers must purchase and maintain car insurance in order to legally drive in the Commonwealth . Under Pennsylvania law, this is called maintaining “financial responsibility” on your vehicles. A lapse in insurance coverage may result in the suspension of your vehicle registration privilege for three months, unless the lapse of insurance was for a period of less than 31 days and the owner or registrant proves to the Department of Transportation (PennDOT) that the vehicle was not operated during this short lapse in coverage.

In Pennsylvania, a lapse in insurance coverage may result in the suspension of your vehicle registration privilege for 3 months, unless the lapse of insurance was for a period of less than 31 days and the owner or registrant proves to the PennDOT that the vehicle was not operated during this short lapse in coverage. If PennDOT determines that you operated your vehicle without the required insurance, your driver’s license may be suspended for 3 months. Also, your car’s license plate, registration sticker and driver’s license must be surrendered to PennDOT in order to serve the suspension. Restoration fees and proof of insurance must be submitted prior to having either registration or driving privileges returned.

If you are stopped for a moving violation and it is determined that you are operating your vehicle without insurance, you could face the following penalties and expenses:

A minimum of $300 fine for driving uninsured

A three month suspension of your vehicle registration

A three month suspension of your driver’s license

Restoration fees to restore your vehicle registration

Restoration fees to restore your driver’s license

Vehicle impoundments

Pennsylvania Minimum Liability Coverage

Liability coverage is required by law in Pennsylvania. The minimum liability amounts for the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania are as follows:

$15,000 bodily injury per person.

$30,000 total bodily injury per accident.

$5,000 total property damage per accident.

Remember that these are only the minimum requirements set by the state. Experts always advise that drivers get more than the state-mandated minimums, particularly if you have assets you need to protect, since these limits have not kept pace with the skyrocketing costs of car repairs and medical care. Also, getting liability coverage alone will not cover you in case of damage to your own car, so most drivers will want to add collision and comprehensive coverage to their policies.

Pennsylvania Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage

Some, not all, states will require that drivers carry UM/UIM, also known as uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. This coverage will protect the driver in the event that an accident occurs and the other party does not have auto insurance.

The Commonwealth of Pennsylvania does not currently require this coverage.

No-Fault Insurance

Pennsylvania is a no-fault state, so no-fault insurance is required (see PIP below)

Personal Injury Protection (PIP) (Medical Benefits)

PIP is an extension of car insurance available in some U.S. states that pays for medical expenses, rehabilitation, funeral expenses, lost wages, and in-home assistance for you and your passengers injured in an accident, regardless of who is at fault (i.e., no-fault). Passengers who own their own cars collect under their own policies.

As a no-fault state, the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania current requires drivers to carry Medical Benefits insurance. Medical Benefits coverage pays medical bills for you and others who are covered by your policy, regardless of fault. The minimum limit is $5,000 of coverage.

Pennsylvania SR-22 Requirements

SR-22 is a document required to be filed with a state’s DMV as proof that the minimum liability coverage for the state is being carried. Not everyone needs an SR-22 filing. SR-22s are typically required for a driver to reinstate their driving privileges after an offense such as a DUI conviction, uninsured auto accident, or driving without proof of insurance.

Pennsylvania does not require SR-22 filing to reinstate a driver’s license.

Pennsylvania DUI Laws

In Pennsylvania, you can receive the following penalties for your first DUI offense.

BAC (Blood Alcohol Count) 0.08% to 0.099%

6 month probation

$3,000 fine

Alcohol highway safety school

BAC 0.10% to 0.159%

2 days to 6 months imprisonment

$500 to $5,000 fine

1 year license suspension

Possible restricted license available after 60 days

Possible ignition interlock required

Alcohol highway safety school

BAC 0.16%+

3 days to 6 months imprisonment

$1,000 to $5,000 fine

1 year license suspension

Alcohol highway safety school

Possible restricted license available after 60 days

Possible ignition interlock required

Find them here: http://www.quotelab.com/auto-insurance-in-pennsylvania.html

Please follow and like us:
error

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error

Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)